Nobody Does it Like Sandra Lee.

There is very little that needs to be said about this, apart from “what the hell was she thinking?” I am particularly intrigued by her use of “acorns”. They’re corn nuts, for God’s sake. And who on earth would choose to make a “harvest cake” out of angel food? Perhaps

Oh yes, Sandra Lee.

Thank you, Mr.Fingerhut for alerting me to this piece of Holiday cheer.

For those of you who have not seen this video, enjoy. For those of you who have, watch it again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Nobody Does it Like Sandra Lee.

  1. Jay in (not of) L.A. says:

    Hey, come on. Give credit where credit is due. From the size of that kitchen, she must be in AT LEAST a double wide.

    What color is her trash again?

  2. Dani says:

    I’m just saying that if you open enough cans, you aren’t “making” anything

  3. michaelprocopio says:

    To respond to both of you at once…

    By opening enough cans, she is, in fact, “making” quite a pile of trash. Of the white variety– no matter how much she loves Kwanzaa.

  4. Sean says:

    So let me get this right … she’s making a Kwanzaa cake with angel food cake (no doubt made with White Lily flour) covered in Mexican chocolate frosting? Sigh. At least she didn’t try to incorporate watermelon.

  5. Nicky D. says:

    Miss Gurke: I’m sorry, but do you think we could cancel our fresh fruit salads?

    Sybil: Well it’s a little tricky, Chef’s just opened the tin.

    –Fawlty Towers

    PS: Who is this woman? Is this a cooking show broadcast in college dorms?

  6. Deborah says:

    Michael,

    Gag me with a fucking spoon! I have hated this beeyatch for far too long, and now she’s on your blog which makes it worse! She is only good for throwing parties for a three year-old prima donna, the likes of which I’ll never know!

    Get her off the food network…it’s not even food,
    it’s TRASH!!!!!!!

    toodles poodles,
    deb

  7. michaelprocopio says:

    Sean– I haven’t seen the “tablescape” she created for her Kwanzaa dinner. Let’s hope she didn’t make that her centerpiece.

    Nicky– As far as I can tell, Sandra Lee is an unfulfilled housewife. Perhaps the second wife. I like to think that she came from a poor background, found a man with some money, the set about spending it like water on every piece of crap she ever wanted when she was a child but could not afford it. I have no proof, of course, but it’s just a hunch.

    Deborah– I’d like you to think of this as a safe place to give honest, heartfelt comments. Next time, perhaps you might just kick off your shoes, have a drink, and then tell us how you truly, truly feel. Really, don’t hold back.

  8. Kara says:

    This is a great video, and site. Glad I found it.

    Wow. I love food, my husband is a foodie/gourmet cook yet I appreciate all food, kind of (I agree w/Socrates tha t if you truly love something, you love it all, not just the “best” versions of it. )

    However, this cake looks unlovable. Its hard to judge it w/out eating it, but I would say “no thanks” based on the cornnuts alone.
    Heathers really stuck with me.

    I think its fine to use “store bought icing”….but I know we expect a lot from our TV food personalities….
    Still. No thanks Sandra!

    • michaelprocopio says:

      Well, thank you very much, Kara!

      Yeah, the corn nuts. They’re just part of what makes this a fascinating train wreck, don’t you think?

  9. Scott H. says:

    I love Sandra Lee. I schedule my days around her show. She embodies everything that’s good about this country . Beautiful, semi-natural blondes in tight sweaters making quick crappy meals from boxes and cans. “Bring me a festive holiday napkin, baby, ’cause I just spilled my “grape soda Martini” on your tablescape !” God Bless America!!

  10. michaelprocopio says:

    Scott– Whoever and wherever you are, bless you. You are my kind of people.

  11. Charmian says:

    I’d rather eat the candles.

  12. Pingback: Chilaquiles: A Cure for the End-of-Times Hangover. | Bay Area Bites

  13. Pingback: Chilaquiles: A Cure for the End-of-Times Hangover. « Food for the Thoughtless

  14. Aruni says:

    Two words for you, my darling Michael:

    Stepford Cook.

  15. Pingback: Pinch Dipping | Food for the Thoughtless

  16. Isn’t a trained chef, and this is just her thing? I am not saying it makes that cake ok, what cocktail did she make to go with it?

    • Michael Procopio says:

      I have no idea, but you know there were at least three under her belt before she came up with this.

      I’d love to come up with an equally horrendous cocktail. In fact, I think you’ve just inspired a future blog post.

      M

Leave a comment